Recreation & Leisure - Museums


COMBER & DISTRICT HISTORICAL SOCIETY MUSEUM

COMBER & DISTRICT HISTORICAL SOCIETY MUSEUM


10405 Highway 77 ( 3 miles south of Comber).
Phone: (519) 687-3332 or (519) 326-5998
Website:  www.combermuseum.ca

Celebrating 50 years 1967- 2017

2017 Comber Museum Executive

President – Mark McKinlay     
  • Home:  (519) 687-3400
  • Cell:  (519) 819-5318

Secretary / Treasurer – Halli Pearson
 
The Tilbury West Centennial Museum was officially opened as a centennial project on Saturday September 30th 1967.  Among those in attendance were Arthur Reaume M.P.P. (Liberal Essex North),  Eugene Whelan M.P. (Liberal Essex South), and representatives of our local Municipal Government. 

In 1998, the museum was sold by the Municipality and became the property of the Comber and District Historical Society. The Museum is the only Agricultural Museum in Essex County.
               
The Comber & District Historical Society Museum is located approximately 4 km. south of Comber on Hwy 77 in what was formally known as S.S. #8 Maple Grove Public School (1894).  

Proudly displayed in the Museum are artifacts from our region's past.. everything from magneto telephones to farm machinery, along with many more articles that have been collected over the years.  There are many pictures on display and sections within the museum for household articles, agriculture, medical, school military, carpentry and local government to name just a few of the displays.  
 
MAIDSTONE BICENTENNIAL MUSEUM

MAIDSTONE BICENTENNIAL MUSEUM


1093 Puce Road
Phone: (519) 727-8811
Maidstone Museum

Contact Information
Victoria Beaulieu, President - 519-819-5318
proudacres@gmail.com

Barb Townsend, 1st Vice Pres - 519-727-5757
Len Wybenga, 2nd Vice Pres - 519-326-9714
 
Website http://www.maidstonemuseum.com 
Check our Facebook
 
Maidstone Museum is owned and operated by the Maidstone & Area Historical Society an incorporated not for profit that has been existence for 36 years.  Maidstone Museum houses an amazing collection of artefacts from the local community and an in house library.  MAHS has created friendly and creative interpretations of the area's local history and also offers interactive children's programming in history, heritage, culture and conservation such as the War of 1812 Encampment, Butterfly & Bee Day and Pioneer Christmas to mention a few.  The property is adorned with beautiful Heritage Native Gardens that showcase over 50 species of Native trees, shrubs and plants. 
MAHS also offers a re-enacting unit Maidstone Voyageurs that participate in outreach programs throughout Ontario. 
 

2019 Executive


President – Victoria Beaulieu - cell (519) 819-5318

1st Vice-President – Elizabeth McInnis – (519) 727-3901

Director of Education - Marg Campeau - (519) 979-0179

 
THE JOHN FREEMAN WALLS HISTORICAL SITE

THE JOHN FREEMAN WALLS HISTORICAL SITE & Underground Railroad Museum


County Road 25
Phone: (519) 258-6253
Website: www.undergroundrailroadmuseum.org
The unique tourist attraction allows people to understand and experience the first great secret movement, allowing thousands of fugitive slaves to enter into Canada to obtain freedom. The interactive guided tour stimulates traveling the underground railroad. The development of the historic site was inspired by the book “The Road that Led to Somewhere”.

Open Monday to Friday, 5 days a week until August 31 from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Last tour at 3:30 p.m. Admission is $5 per person, children under 5 free.

Open for large groups, tours and school buses May 15 to October 15 each year by appointment.